Host of the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

The ICC World Cup is the 12th Edition of the Cricket World Cup, Scheduled to be hosted by England and Wales From 13th May to 14th July 2019. The hosting Rights to 2011, 2015 and 2019 world were awarded simultaneously in 2006. Initially, England and Wales put in a joint bid for the 2015 world cup. However, after Australia was beaten out by a joint Asian bid for the 2011 tournament they were offered the hosting rights in 2015. England and Wales were granted the rights to 2019 if they agreed to withdraw their 2015 bid which they promote did. England was also granted to rights to the first ever T20 World cup in 2007 at the same time. The cricket tournament was originally going to be an invitational the ICC granted if official status.

Qualification for the 2019 Cricket World Cup

Only 10 teams will qualify for the 2019 world cup after a decision was taken to shrink the size of the tournament. In 2011 and in 2015 the tournament had 14 teams but ICC has decided few nations will make for a better competition. England will qualify automatically because they are hosting the Tournament, as will the top seven one day international nations according to the latest ICC Rankings 6 months prior to the tournament.

However, that leaves only two spots for the remaining test playing nation and affiliate members of the ICC. Those places have been taken by Afghanistan and West Indies at a qualifying tournament which was held in Bangladesh in March 2018. This tournament included the reaming four teams that failed to make the top seven one day international spots plus the top four teams format he Cricket World League Champions.

Teams Qualified for the 2019 Cricket World Cup
Automatically Qualifier

• England

Current Qualifiers based on current ICC One Day International Ranking

• Australia

• South Africa

• India

• New Zealand

• Sri Lanka

• Bangladesh

• Pakistan

Participant in the 2018 World Cup Qualification Tournaments

• West Indies

• Zimbabwe

• Afghanistan

• Ireland

• Papua New Guinea

• Netherlands

• Hong Kong

• Scotland


In the past, a variety of formats have been used but the reduced number of teams this year means that the format will be much simpler than in previous years. In 2018 there will only be one central group consisting of all 10 teams. In this group stage, every nation will play each other once meaning that there will be a total of 45 group games before the finals stage. Because of this extended group phase, the quarterfinals have been abolished and the top 4 teams will instead progress directly to the semi-finals with the remaining 6 nations knocked out of the tournament. The winners of each respective semi will progress to the final and the winner of that match will be declared world champion.


Lords, the spiritual home of cricket will play host to the final while The Oval will host the opening game. The two semi-finals according to the English Cricket Board will be played at Edgbaston and Old Trafford. The London stadium will host the opening ceremony and some group stage fixtures. The rest of the games will be played across England and Wales at the grounds which meet the ICCs size and capacity requirements. A list of these stadiums is below.


City Country Capacity

Lords London Middlesex 28,000

Edgbaston Cricket Ground Birmingham Warwickshire 25,000

Rose Bowl Southampton Hamptonshire 25,000

The Oval London Surrey 23,500

Old Trafford Trentbridge Lancashire 22,000

Riverside Ground Chester Le Street Durham 20,000

Headingley Leads Yorkshire 17,500

Trentbridge Nottingham Nottinghamshire 17,000

County cricket Ground Leeds Gloucestershire 17,000

Sophia Gardens Cardiff Glamorgan 15,640

County Ground Taunton Somerset 8,500

Cricket World Cup 2019 Schedule

The opening Match of the Tournament will be held on 30/05/2019 between England and South Africa and the ending Cricket World Cup match will be on 14/7/2019 at lord’s. Here’s the complete list of fixtures by ESPN cricinfo:

Favorites to win the 2019 Cricket World Cup

After winning the last World cup Australia are deserved favorites with India and South Africa not far behind. It’d be interesting to see if Steve Smith and David Warner will make it back to the world cup playing eleven after completing their one-year ban for being involved in ball tampering this year against South Africa. Somewhat surprisingly and disappointingly for the hosts, England is the only fourth favorite despite the host country historically having a massive advantage. As you would expect all test playing nations are more heavily favored than the affiliate nations suggesting that the bookmakers believe that they will have no trouble qualifying via the qualification tournament. It should be noted that since the tournament is still over a year way that the above odds are likely to change.