In this post, I will bring you up to date on the ten clubs participating in the fifth edition of the ISL, the Indian Super League. My endeavour is to garner more interest in Indian sports and athletics. The players named in the squad are likely to change as the league progresses due to the transfer windows allowed. I will take up only three or four clubs at a time so as not to bore you with ten pages of information at a time. 

Chennayin FC

Manager: John Gregory

Home ground: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai

FC Chennayin is one of the eight debutants of the first edition of the ISL in 2014. The club is owned by Vita Dani, Abhishek Bachchan and Mahendra Singh Dhoni. In 2014, with Marco Materazzi as the manager. The team played well in the first edition to lead the league tables. A 117th-minute goal scored by Kerala Blasters in the semi-finals put paid to their hopes of putting their hands on the ISL Trophy in the inaugural season. In the 2015 season, Chennaiyin FC won four consecutive matches on a trot to climb up from the bottom place and qualify for the playoffs. They beat Goa 3-2 in the finals to win the ISL trophy.

The third edition of the ISL did not go too well for Chennaiyin FC and they finished seventh among the eight teams in the league table. John Gregory took the helm and led the team through another brilliant season. They steamrolled the opposition in the league games. They topped the table after 7 games and finished second in the league table. After disposing of Goa FC in the semis, in the finals, they overcame Bengaluru FC 3-2 and won the ISL Cup for the second time emulating ATK. For this season, ISL-5, they are the reigning champions.

Chennayin FC in Malaysia source

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Karanjit Singh, Sanjiban Gosh, Nikhil Bernard

Defenders: Eli Sabia, Hendry Antonay, Inigo Calderon, Jerry Lalrinzuala, Laldinliana Renthlei, Mailson Alves (Captain,) Tondonba Singh, Zohmingliana, Ralte.

Midfielders: Andrea Orlandi, Dhanpal Ganesh, Bedashwor Singh, Anirudh Thapa, Fransisco Fernandes, Issac Vanmalsawma, Germanpreet Singh, Gregory Nelson, Thoi Singh, Pandiyan Sinivasan, Raphael Agusto.

Forwards: Carlos Salom, Jeje Lalpekhlua, Mohammed Rafi

Bengaluru FC

Manager: Charles Cuadrat        

Home Ground: Shree Kanteerave Stadium, Bangaluru

The club was launched in 2013 and is owned by JSW Group. They have to their credit two I-league titles, two Federation Cup title and a Super Cup Championship. They quailed for the Asians Club Championships, the 2016 Asian Cup, but lost in the finals. They became the first Indian team to qualify for the AFC Cup finals. In 2017-18 they joined the fourth edition of the ISL when the organisers added two more teams to the competition. They won bids from among ten cities along with Jamshedpur FC backed by the Tata Group.

Bengaluru FC in ISL 4 source

With Albert Rocca as their manager, the team gave a credible account of themselves, finishing second in the league tables at the end of their games. During the matches, they fought their way back from many an adverse situation to defeat their senior and more experienced opponents. In the semi-finals, they overcame FC Pune City in the return match 3-1, after a goalless draw in the away first leg. In the finals, they lost to Chennaiyin FC 3-2 in the home game at the Kanteerava Stadium when The Tamil club managed to hold on to their initial lead.

The squad

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Aditya Patra, Soram Poirei.

Defenders: Harmanjot Khabra, Albert Serran, Nishu Kumar, Asheeer Akhtar, Gursimrat Singh, Juanan, Rahul Bheke, Sairuat Kima, Rino Anto.

Midfielders: Ajay Chetri, Altamash Sayed, Chencho Gyeltshen, Dimas Delgado, Kean Lewis, Udanta Singh, Bidyananda Singh, Boitang Haokip, Erik Paartalu, Xisco Hernandez.

Forwards: Miku, Semboi Haokip, Sunil Chhetri

Head Coach: Charles Cuadrat

FC Goa

Manager: Sergio Lobera

Home Ground: Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Fatorda, Goa

The Club was launched in 2014 Dattaraj Salgaoncar and Srinivas Dempo, two football lovers and mining magnates from the picturesque state of Goa. Virat Kohli, the Indian cricketer also joined them later. In the first edition of the ISL the club, with Zico as their manager, lost four of their first six matches but recovered to finish second in the league table. They lost to ATK in the semi-final in a penalty shoot-out. They had a good 2015 season, finishing on top of the league table but Lost to Chennaiyin FC in a pulsating match that glued spectators to their seats till the last minute.

FC Goa in Spain source

The club changed ownership in 2016 with Jaydev Modi and Venugopal Doot buying the majority stake. FC Goa did poorly in the season and finished at the bottom of the points table. Zico resigned and Sergio Lobera took over as the manager of the team. In the 2017-18 season, Goa FC played attacking football but ultimately lost to Chennaiyin FC in the semi-final as they did four years back With the team revamp this year, we can expect some free-flowing football from them.

The squad:

Goal Keepers: Lalthuammawia Ralte, Laxmikant Kattimani, Mohammed Nawaz.

Defenders: Carlos Pena, Chinglensana Singh, Lalmangaihsanga, Mohammed Ali, Nirmal Chettri, Saviour Gama, Mourtada Fall, Seriton Fernandes.

Midfielders: Brendon Fernandes, Ahmed Jahouh, Edu Bedia, Hugo Boumous, Imran Khan, Mandar Rao Desai, Jackichand Singh, Lenny Rodrigues, Miguel Fernandez, Pratesh Shirodkar, Princeton Rebello.

Forwards: Ferran Corominas, Liston Colaco, Manvir Singh.

Please note that I have taken information from extensively. The list of players is collected largely from the ISL website.